Sigh.

I spent most of the weekend camping and enjoying nature and avoiding social media. Then the Oscars happened. And the horrid yet banal sexismracismhomophobiaantisemitism that was Seth MacFarlane’s “satire” and edgy comedy. And The Onion tweet about Quvenzhene Wallis.

See, I like dark humor. And I’ve been known to laugh at some pretty outrageous things. But I don’t like mean humor. And I think there is a difference. I’m also an admirer of shows like South Park or Beavis and Butthead (and the kinder but still on point King Of The Hill) and Family Guy. Cause animation and satire go really well together.

I’m not a fan of what happened last night. I wanted to like the “We Saw Your Boobs” song, cause there’s a way that could have been really pointed at the Hollywood machine that pushes women to expose body parts, but in at least 4 of the movies referenced, the breasts exposed were exposed due to rape. So it felt more, after it sank in, like…Heh, you thought you were making art, but really, we saw your boobs.

It’s windy like hell today and I wish there a way that fierce air could blow away the desire to reach the LCD of humor these days. Given how amazing Pohler and Fey were at the Golden Globes, I have to wonder what the hell is going on.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sigh.

  1. Pingback: Complicity, Failure Bows, What To Change | Julie Gillis

  2. Pingback: Race and Feminism. Mirrors and Shadows. | Julie Gillis

Leave a Reply

