Gratitude 29 Fog

The fog comes
on little cat feet.

It sits looking
over harbor and city
on silent haunches
and then moves on.

–Carl Sandburg

I love the writer and poet Carl Sandburg. His was the first work I ever performed on stage, at about 7 or 8 years of age, in Columbia, SC as part of a children’s theater camp. We performed scenes from the book of American Fairy Tales, Rootabaga Stories.

He was earnest, hopeful, populist and poetic.

His work has been a part of my life since childhood, and we read from his poetry (from Honey and Salt) at our wedding.

It was foggy today. I thought of him.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Gratitude 29 Fog

  1. mrsbachelorgirl

    I love Sandburg too! I wrote a report on him in elementary school.
    And “little cat feet” is one of my favorite phrases.

Leave a Reply

