Why?

The link below is graphic in both photographic and literary content. The women, Mallory Owens, was beaten viciously, and it has been alleged the attack took place because she was a lesbian dating the assailants brother.

It is hard for me to understand the “why” in all of this. Why gay and lesbian sexuality (or any non normative sexuality) inspires such aggression and fear to the point of physical assault.

I do understand. I mean I know the stated reasons about the fear and aggression. And I also understand and have heard the cultural, normative, etc etc etc reasons for oppression. But I just don’t get what makes a person beat the hell out of someone for being different. I’m glad I don’t get it.

I hope that clarity will be found and if this is indeed a hate crime, that it will be prosecuted as such, but beyond that (for prisons are just gonna create more hate and violence, or at least it seems that way), I hope he gets some therapy, long term, and some counseling, true counseling.

I hope she heals in both body and spirit.

Mallory Owens, Alabama Lesbian, Allegedly Attacked By Girlfriend's Brother During Thanksgiving Dinner (GRAPHIC).

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Why?

  1. mrsbachelorgirl

    There is absolutely no excuse for this kind of violence. I clicked on the link, and I really wish I hadn’t. That poor woman. It’s a miracle she’s alive.

    One of my favorite Bible verses, and the one I refer to when I don’t know how to handle a particular situation, is John chapter 13, verses 34-35: “I give you a new commandment: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you also should love one another. This is how all will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” That’s exceedingly difficult to do sometimes, but it’s about as simple as it gets. If only more of us could remember and abide by it, what a different place this world would be.

    • Yes. And I think some people confuse the action of love (being kind, not being violent, helping etc) with the feeling of “LURVE” (liking what that person is doing).

      Still, there are people who go past even hate into this kind of passionate, deep, disgust and rage as if the other person existing is an actual threat. It must be a terrible place to live, to feel that kind of fear of someone. I hope he can wind up getting some level of help, and that there is justice.

Leave a Reply

