Pumpkins

flickr creativecommons richardbowen

I love pumpkins in all their fall glory. Fairytale, Ghost, Cinderella pumpkins, tiny desk pumpkins, oversized bright orange pumpkins, stacks of hay covered in pumpkins.

I carved, poorly, pumpkins the other night. A good friend came over and we gutted them and tried to keep the kids from slicing themselves in their eagerness to make designs.

I do not have a great deal of hand eye coordination and my artistic ability ends at the page and stage, but we had fun. My pumpkins are nearly always the ones with the triangle eyes. Boring maybe but it’s the process I enjoy most of all.

I love the smell of pumpkins. They are earthy wetness, dank and dark, filled with nutrients and the smell of soil, mulch, coldness. It’s one of my favorite moments in the fall, that cutting open of a big orange gourd and smelling the scent of approaching winter.

flickr creativecommons lifepilgrim

But what’s grand as well, is getting to make roasted pumpkin seeds to snack on.

There are lots of recipes, such as this one from allrecipes, but I like my own version best.

courtesy allrecipes

Dry out the seeds in a warm oven (this can take a day or so), like 175 degrees. Make sure they are dehydrated.

Melt butter, soy sauce, garlic powder, chili powder, a tiny bit of brown sugar, and parmesan cheese in a pan. I have no idea how much of each ingredient. This is one of those “fake it out” kind of deals. Enough to coat how ever many seeds you have.

Toss the dehydrated seeds in the mixture and then roast/bake at 350 for about 30 minutes.

Put in tupperware after they’ve cooled and then you have a great snack!

Since my pumpkin designs won’t impress, here is a lovely gathering of Halloween faces for your enjoyment.

flickr creativecommons brit

____

–Looking for one-on-one coaching on relationships, sexuality, life passages, or need support with personal or career goals? Seeking seeking a facilitator for your group or team to help promote healthy group dynamics and effective communication? Contact me here!

–For more, subscribe to this blog, follow my twitter, connect with me on facebook, and check me out on Pinterest!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

