Food Tuesdays-Homemade Dressings

by madmaxx flickr creative commons

I like to make my own dressings instead of buying them. If you keep decent ingredients at home, it’s relatively easy to do and tastes exactly as you like it.

My basic recipe goes as such:

1/2 cup good olive oil
(Good olive oil is worth the money, go to Con’ Olio for amazing flavors of oils and vinegars and samples!!)
1/3 cup good vinegar
(again see above regarding oil. Same deal. Depndingon the tone of the dressing use champagne, red wine or balsamic vinegar. Con Olio has this amazing pineapple white balsamic which is heaven.)
1 tbsp dijon mustard
1/2 to 1 tbsp honey or agave nectar
Dash salt

To this base you can add citrus juices, capers, zests, garlic or shallot and so forth. I like orange and lemon the most, but below are some other fun combos I’ve used for dinner parties.

andyrobertsphotos flickr creative commons

Apple Dressing
1/2 cup good extra virgin olive oil (or thereabouts)
1/8 cup champagne vinegar
1/8 cup balsamic vinegar (scant, but I love balsamic. This would be good with a white balsamic as well)
1 small shallot, finely minced
1 heaping tsp sugar
1/2 cup finely grated green apple
salt and pepper

Mix and let mellow a bit and then toss completely over field greens

But I did make a really awesome salad and salad dressing.

Mango Dressing

Juice of 2-3 small limes
1/4 Mango
1/8 cup white wine vinegar
1/4 cup good olive oil
1 tbsp sugar or agave nectar
dash salt
small handful fresh cilantro

blend the juice, mango, sugar, salt, vinegar and cilantro in the cuisinart. Add oil slowly to emulsify. Adjust sugar to taste.

The salad itself was field greens, chopped mango, roasted poblano pepper strips, pumpkin seeds.

The thing about the poblano is that it might be super hot or it might not. I roasted, peeled and deveined mine, but damn…it was so spicy I knew no one would enjoy it. I got this wild idea to cook it in olive oil with some sugar added. I don’t know if I remembered seeing it, but I did recall this thing about sugar taking some of the heat out of chile. Anyway, it did the trick and the poblano was smoky, nicely hot and a touch sweet.

The salad was delicious, and if you like avocado, add that too! It was a very good salad, and all that a salad should be. Full of antioxidants, vitamins and flavor. Some shredded chicken would have been nice, but not required.

I love using zest as a finishing touch on a salad. Use the zest of whatever citrus you are using and it adds an amazing aromatic layer to the dish. So sensual and amazing.

identityphotor@phy flickr creative commons

____

–Looking for one-on-one coaching on relationships, sexuality, life passages, or need support with personal or career goals? Seeking seeking a facilitator for your group or team to help promote healthy group dynamics and effective communication? Contact me here!

–For more, subscribe to this blog, follow my twitter, connect with me on facebook, and check me out on Pinterest!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

