Ribbons

teo flickr creative commons

Out of the blue a very talented musician and writer posted a link on my blog of his poem, ribbons.

It was such a nice surprise to receive, completely unexpected, and a genuine gift.

I write poetry too, at least sometimes I do (or did..I haven’t felt that particular muse in a while), and I find poems to be a singular joy, the way they distill experiences and feelings into something precious.

I’m glad I’ve got some new work to read and love.

ribbons by Jim Trainer

of blue&white
tacked to
the Wall
above the
ruin&the Wine&the waste
on the broad oaken
table.
the pack of Parliaments
w/just two left, pens and
candles and
the empty bottle of
Faustino.
the summer it was
grand&triumphant,
hot but
replete w/the kind of losses
you’re thankful for
like being shot at
with her gun when
you knew the chamber only held
one. that’s what
summer was-
a donning of hollow godheads,
dancing down blazing streets of yellow
collecting talismans
shaken from the tower
each one
with better luck.
each one with better luck.

____

–Looking for one-on-one coaching on relationships, sexuality, life passages, or need support with personal or career goals? Seeking seeking a facilitator for your group or team to help promote healthy group dynamics and effective communication? Contact me here!

–For more, subscribe to this blog, follow my twitter, connect with me on facebook, and check me out on Pinterest!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Ribbons

  1. Thanks, doll. More to come!

Leave a Reply

