Food Tuesdays-Comfort Food Part One

Comfort food. Who doesn’t need it occasionally?

This is not a recipe post, by the way. I can tell you how to make this stuff, but really…read the box. I can tell you that comfort food, whatever it is for you, is important. It makes us feel loved, whole, and safe even if for a moment. This isn’t healthy at all. But it makes me feel good and that’s what matters. Kraft Macaroni and Cheese Spirals. I like the spirals way better than the traditional macaroni. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s cause the spirals have a better texture. Maybe they just represent the eternal nature of the universe.

All I know is that that horrid pasty powdery cheese sauce makes me feel somehow whole on days when the world seems wrong. I could lead you all on and expound on homemade mac and cheese with truffle oil, or perfect Pad Thai (not that I don’t eat plenty) or tell you all about roasted garlic rosemary mashed potatoes. Well, I could tell you about those sometime, cause I’ve made them. Point is. Some times I just crave that dirty nasty box of noodles. And I don’t care who knows about it.

____

–Looking for one-on-one coaching on relationships, sexuality, life passages, or need support with personal or career goals? Seeking seeking a facilitator for your group or team to help promote healthy group dynamics and effective communication? Contact me here!

–For more, subscribe to this blog, follow my twitter, connect with me on facebook, and check me out on Pinterest!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Food Tuesdays-Comfort Food Part One

  1. The driving philosophy behind my food blog(s) is that comfort food can be good for you, too. It’s not always convenient food, though you can contrive convenience by cooking in large batches and freezing it in small, craving-sized portions. What counts as comforting depends on time of day, time of year, how I’m feeling … a dozen or more factors, and my comfort foods change over time, too. Sometimes it’s something I don’t yet know how to make for myself. Those are the least secure of my security foods.

  2. If anything I’d say that comfort food is about like alcohol, sugars, and fats (which of course may be ingredients in said comfort foods). Moderation is the key. Like Justin says it can be good for you even if it not convenient and even if it’s not healthy.

    But Justin I do have one small distinction when it comes to comfort food. The act of cooking said comfort food is a part of the comfort so for me freezing ahead of time would spoil it for me. Part of healing my mood at the time calls for making something that I’ve done so many times I could probably write a script in some machine language and program a robot to do it but would never do because like I say I get part of my comfort in actually making it.

    So Julie I take it part 2 will feature one of your comforting favorites?

Leave a Reply

