Food Tuesdays-Light And Easy

I’ve been in a health focused mood lately and I’ve been incorporating as much fresh, real, delicious food in my culinary repertoire as possible. I think it’s possible (as do others) to make sumptuous delectables while increasing health and vitality.

This dish is a standby for me, and kind of one of those kitchen sink types, in that you can use nearly any kind of veggies or flavorings you prefer.

Salmon
Pico de Gallo (make this however you like, though we use onions, garlic, tomatoes, hot peppers, cilantro, salt and pepper)
Lime
Red bell peppers and grape tomatoes
Mushrooms
Salt and Pepper

Place the salmon in an lightly oiled pan, covered with the chopped veggies, salt, pepper, lime and pico.

I baked it at 375 for about 30 minutes or so. Serve over rice or quinoa or whatever grain pleases you.

It’s light and easy.

I made this dish, a raw kale salad with avocado, from Linda Wagner last night. I really enjoy the process of getting kale ready to be consumed. It’s a somewhat tough leafy green, and the stems don’t cook up well so doing a chopped raw kale salad means de-stemming a huge batch of the greens, a process that is meditative to me. In order to get the kale soft and easy to digest, massage the leaves with salt. The salt breaks the plant matter down just a little so it wilts. By massaging it and then rinsing in lukewarm water, you reduce the kale a bit and its delicious.

I altered her salad a tiny bit with the subtraction of the radishes and the addition of pumpkin seeds (so very good for you) and tossed it in a light lemon vinaigrette.

One lemon, juiced about a 1/4 cup
1 Tsp of lemon zest
1/8 cup white wine vinegar
1/8 cup (or thereabouts) agave nectar
1/2 cup olive oil
dash salt
tbsp dijon mustard

Whisk everything but the zest together and toss the salad with the dressing (a little or a lot of dressing depending on how you roll). Add zest right before serving. The zest adds an amazing aromatic quality.

I’ve been reading so many food blogs and they all share such wonderful photos! I’m going to have to try to take some snaps on my Instagram (I’m julesabouttown) and share those too! Food needs to be seen, smelled, and tasted!

____

–Looking for one-on-one coaching on relationships, sexuality, life passages, or need support with personal or career goals? Seeking seeking a facilitator for your group or team to help promote healthy group dynamics and effective communication? Contact me here!

–For more, subscribe to this blog, follow my twitter, connect with me on facebook, and check me out on Pinterest!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

