Food Tuesdays

So, in blogs past I used to post recipes and foodie type things I was interested in. I’m going to reinstate that because food (and all that goes with it) is an amazing subject-from cooking at home to going out, from CSAs to classes. Food is a way I can express both pleasure and creativity (and I’ve never had much talent at crafts) and it’s a way to share and create community with friends and loved ones. It’s even a way to help make peace between opposing sides.

I was watching Giada De Laurentiis yesterday on the Food Network and she had a fantastic program, and I thought…I’d be thrilled to eat anything on this menu. While I had quinoa and salmon, I didn’t have all of the other required ingredients nor the wherewithal to go and fetch them. I bastardized all of it.

First off, the salad looks wonderful. I love citrus in salad and caramelized onions? Yum. I’ve been on a huge fresh/raw/salad kind of kick lately and this looks precisely like a grand mix of health and decadence.

I did not make the salad, but I added romaine to the side dish….

Of herbed quinoa. I love quinoa and the addition of basil, lemon zest and parsley (thought I could maybe do without parsley, didn’t have basil, so I substituted lime and cilantro), sounds heavenly. Quinoa is really really good for you. It’s filled with protein and fiber and is great for folks who have gluten intolerance. Some people really dislike it, but not me!

And grilled salmon. Delish. I like how she uses agave syrup to help create a salty sweet crust. I didn’t have agave, so I used honey and it caramelized up just fine.

Not perfect, but really healthy and tasty and easy.

____

–Looking for one-on-one coaching on relationships, sexuality, life passages, or need support with personal or career goals? Seeking seeking a facilitator for your group or team to help promote healthy group dynamics and effective communication? Contact me here!

–For more, subscribe to this blog, follow my twitter, connect with me on facebook, and check me out on Pinterest!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Food Tuesdays

  1. Pingback: First Food Tuesday | Julie Gillis

Leave a Reply

