Mothering

I do this. I am this. It’s ok that I am this and that I do this. It’s important to be able to be what you are.

Whether at my work-which involves the care and feeding (mostly emotional but often literal) of persons 18-22, or in a space of theater where I feel as if I minister, support the creation of family, as much as perform, or with my own small ones (one of whom painted the above for me), or with the advocacy I do, or frankly with the figures I relate to in film.

And I fight this for many reasons. But I should not fight the mother energy. I should not. It’s not just cookies and milk, smothering or neutered passion, its so much more really, so much more swords and ferocity and healing and power than it is minivans and soccer matches. Those are just trappings.

And so I don’t think it should be fought, for I suspect nothing gets wounded in the fight but myself.

And so I have a new one to mother and mother fully and she is small and beautiful.

And perhaps she’ll be a familiar of sorts and show me me with her sweet and aggressive power how fierce and needed this mothering is.

____

–Looking for one-on-one coaching on relationships, sexuality, life passages, or need support with personal or career goals? Seeking seeking a facilitator for your group or team to help promote healthy group dynamics and effective communication? Contact me here!

–For more, subscribe to this blog, follow my twitter, connect with me on facebook, and check me out on Pinterest!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mothering

  1. I really love this. Especially this line:

    “But I should not fight the mother energy. I should not. It’s not just cookies and milk, smothering or neutered passion, its so much more really, so much more swords and ferocity and healing and power than it is minivans and soccer matches.”

    I will admit that I struggle with the future and thinking about potential parenthood because I fear being reduced to minivans and soccer. However, it’s posts like these that remind me it’s not just about being chopped down into an annoying TV character, but about participating in love, shaping, teaching, experiencing, and the passing on of memories. And even if it is minivan and soccer games, it’s not about those things themselves as much as it is the living life with those people and participating in love.

    And the great thing is that this can be applied throughout the rest of life as well (not just kids). I do have a dog though, and your kitten is adorable!

    So, thank you for the reminder. This is an important life reminder.

  2. Pingback: Mothers | Julie Gillis

Leave a Reply

