Back In The Saddle

Folks, Ladies Are Funny Festival was a big success and I am now back in the saddle. The weekend was so much fun, with ladies from all across the US here to perform, network, take a class and go to a great panel on casting.

I couldn’t be more proud of all the folks who helped make the festival happen.

For blog posts and updates on the fest, go here.

For some of our press, head this way!

My final thoughts?

I’ve been thinking about why we all do this, this comedy/producing/acting/creating thing. It’s a crazy thing to do, after all, but somehow we all keep coming back to it.

For me? It’s the whole put on a show deal, yes? Community.

I was born in 1969, and as such I watched a lot of variety shows growing up. There wasn’t that much else to watch for a kid, save Sid and Marty Kroft (my mother thought it was too weird for me to watch) or perhaps episodes of MASH.

I’m sure this has influenced my love for comedy, but I also believe it impressed upon me the idea of community on stage and off. The call to “put on a show” has been a part of my life since I was a child. It looked like such fun all the characters, songs, costumes and performers. They all laughed and danced, performed magic or vaudeville, made jokes that certainly were dirty but seemed so fun, and looked to me like they were having the time of their lives.

I suppose I can’t give that up, that time of the life feeling, the idea that people can make something amazing happen on stage and off. All of us involved with LAFF have seen so many great performers come together, create, learn, connect and evolve their art, their performance. It’s a real blessing.

Now that the festival had now ended, and everyone is off to their lives back at home, I’d like to say thank you for being part of the 6th Ladies Are Funny Festival. Whether you were a performer, a sponsor, a staff person, volunteer or audience member, you made some great things happen this weekend and all of us at LAFF thank you for your support.

It takes more than just hard work and volunteers to pull something like this off. It takes a belief in community, through good times and bad, fights and disagreements, hilarious moments and sad ones. I’ve been lucky to have such great people beside me as we’ve created a space for for all of that to happen.

To close LAFF 2012? The lady herself, a queen of variety hours and comedy, Carol Burnett. I used to wonder, when I was a kid, why she’d close with what seemed like a sad song. But here’s the thing that I understand now, as an adult.

Life is hard. Shit gets real, and things get difficult. If we couldn’t laugh, we’d all cry. And sometimes, after all the jokes and gags, just saying thank you and being grateful for the time we have with each other, earnest as it may be, is exactly what needs to happen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

