Momentum, Seeds, Blooming

courtesy flickr andy ciordia

I just spent an amazing weekend away with the Bedpost Confessions ladies in Washington DC, at MomentumCon, Making Waves In Sexuality, Feminism, and Relationship. We were lucky enough to be asked to provide entertainment to the conference and spent three days meeting, greeting, and connecting with amazing people.

It was an astonishing event filled with old friends and new, writers, activists, educators and policy makers all focused on human sexuality and relationships. Conference producers Dee Dennis and Tess Danesi filled the panels with people such as Esther Perel, Dr. Logan Levkoff, Audacia Ray, Bill Taverner, Dr. Charlie Glickman, Maria Falzone, Dr. Lynn Comella, Twanna A. Hines, Dr. Carol Queen, Abiola Abrams, Chloe Angyal, Francisco Ramirez, Joan Price, and Rachel Kramer Bussel and more all of whom delighted, challenged and inspired us.

The true highlight of the event was the closing plenary session, Sex in America: Changing the Conversation Beyond Smut and Sanctimony featuring Lara Riscol, Esther Perel and Dr. Joycelyn Elders each who spoke truth to power about life, love, sexuality and America’s sometimes confused take on how to educate not only it’s children but also it’s adults.

I was in my 20’s when Dr. Elders was dismissed from the White House for her views that given the HIV/AIDS epidemic, perhaps masturbation should be taught as a way for teens and young people to avoid riskier sexual activities that could pass the virus. Her firing shocked me then. It seemed quite logical to me, even in my youth, that human beings should be taught about their bodies, how to stay safe, and how to attain health and pleasure. That she was fired for something that seemed so commonsensical to me…well, I know now that that moment, it’s impact was a tiny seed that is now blooming in my commitment to social justice, civil rights and peace work, with my particular focus in human sexuality, education, love and connection. And yes, pleasure.

Dr. Elders said many marvelous things at her panel, but what struck me the most was this, “From birth to death we are sexual beings. We should be proud of that.”

We should be. I am, and I intend on taking that message even further into the world. I’m so glad I have these folks to learn from and look to for inspiration, motivation and momentum.

____

–Looking for one-on-one coaching on relationships, sexuality, life passages, or need support with personal or career goals? Seeking seeking a facilitator for your group or team to help promote healthy group dynamics and effective communication? Contact me here!

–For more, subscribe to this blog, follow my twitter, connect with me on facebook, and check me out on Pinterest!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Momentum, Seeds, Blooming

  1. Angeliska

    “From birth to death we are sexual beings. We should be proud of that.”
    Yes. Thank you for sharing these words. Sending love your way. xoxo

Leave a Reply

