Where Have I Been?

Oh good golly, it’s been a busy few weeks! I’ve been recovering from the half marathon for one, and then I got knee deep into a conference with some amazing classes about attention management, focus and regaining control of your time, by Maura Thomas of Regain Your Time.

Activity on the internet does NOT equal productivity, I’m sad to say! Because who doesn’t love thinking about their Facebook clicks being hard work? I loved her sessions, though I’d love to talk with her about the importance of building in time to….waste time. Play, relaxing, unstructured time is absolutely of importance to human beings. We get creative when we let our mind wander, we grow more productive mental crops if we let the fields lie fallow!

I’ve also been writing a bit for The Good Men Project, such as this piece, about Birth Control being a man’s issue too, and this piece about Aging Prison Inmates with Dementia.

I’ve also been focused really strongly on The Ladies Are Funny Festival (we’ll be announcing our festival line up very soon) and Bedpost Confessions (we have an amazing show on Gender for March and are planning a move to the ND and a new date-the third Thursday for April).

LOTS of stuff going on this spring, and I’m focused and ready to go. Glad I took Ms. Maura’s classes because it looks like my attention will be focused on a number of things!


–Looking for one-on-one coaching on relationships, sexuality, life passages, or need support with personal or career goals? Seeking seeking a facilitator for your group or team to help promote healthy group dynamics and effective communication? Contact me here!

–For more, subscribe to this blog, follow my twitter, connect with me on facebook, and check me out on Pinterest!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Where Have I Been?

  1. Julie, thank you for the kind words! I’m glad you enjoyed the session. I *completely* agree with you about building in time for “wasting time.” There is an entire section in my upcoming book about the value of down time, and how our brain needs it to learn. You are exactly right that human beings need time to let their minds wander! That’s why I believe it’s so important to offload the details about the phone call to make, the expense sheet to turn in, and the grocery shopping to do, so your brain is freed from the minutia to do the things it’s good at. ;)

    Thanks so much for the shout out!

Leave a Reply

