Intentional. Committed.

I believe in a kind of magic.

“Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness. Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation), there is one elementary truth the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment one definitely commits oneself, the providence moves too. A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen incidents, meetings and material assistance, which no man could have dreamt would have come his way. I learned a deep respect for one of Goethe’s couplets:

Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it.
Boldness has genius, power and magic in it!'”

–W. H. Murray in The Scottish Himalaya Expedition, 1951

It is New Year’s Day and as such, a completely arbitrary day of newness, rituals of starting over, as a longtime friend of mine said today, “New Year’s Day…it’s like a blank notebook or a new jar of peanut butter.”

In the spirit of that magic, I set intentions in my actions; from love, to honest discussion, to good food, to writing, to networking (and also a nap). There are little things I want to commit to like finally figuring out and creating more effective social networking tactics (FB lists, anyone?), and there are some bigger picture things I’m digging into such as devoting myself to a life focused on building and creating community, conflict resolution and mediation, and promoting sexual health, pleasure and freedom. It will mean paring down certain aspects of my life and building up others. It will mean being far more intentional and committed.

And that’s got a magic in it.

What did you do today? What intentions did you set?

____

–Looking for one-on-one coaching on relationships, sexuality, life passages, or need support with personal or career goals? Seeking seeking a facilitator for your group or team to help promote healthy group dynamics and effective communication? Contact me here!

–For more, subscribe to this blog, follow my twitter, connect with me on facebook, and check me out on Pinterest!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Intentional. Committed.

  1. Another quote attributed to Goethe, “Magic is believing in yourself, if you can do that, you can make anything happen”. I think that is one of the biggest lessons I have to learn, believing – ultimately, beyond any reason, limitation or expectation – in myself. And making whatever I want to happen, happen. So very happy to be alongside of you for some of it. Happy new year, love!

    xoxo~Sadie

Leave a Reply

