Thanksgiving

It is Monday night, not too terribly late, but I am quite ready for sleep, rest, and family.

It’s been a gauntlet, the past few weeks, a gauntlet I am grateful for. Being busy means I’m producing, making work, being inspired, being asked to use myself up.

Cover to Cover has closed, though we’ll be doing a special fundraiser version of the show to raise money for Austin Children’s Shelter and Team FX (as I am running a half marathon in February to continue that fundraising for ACS).

I’ve started rehearsals for serialized, improvised Steampunk show which ought to be downright amazing!

There have been shows and shows and posts here and posts there and work and Hey! Look! A Facebook Page! and now it’s just time to look forward to Thanksgiving. Cliched, I suppose, but I do feel a deep gratitude for my friends, my family and the opportunities I have in front of me.

I was speaking with a friend of mine today. He’s much younger than I am, but we were discussing our paths in life. He seems so far ahead of me, in many ways, but he said to me, wisely (and I paraphrase), “Julie if you hadn’t done the things you did then, you wouldn’t be here doing these things now.”

True enough. Wisdom from friends. That’s something I’m grateful for.

Another thing? This quote came to me accidentally, though I’ve read Discworld, it’s been a long time. It’s from Granny Weatherwax and it’s about the truest thing ever.

“The start and finish is helpin’ people when life is on the edge. Even people you don’t like. Stars is easy, people is hard.”

I’d say that people is the more important of the two. I realize I am biased. And for that piece of knowledge, that particular calling, I am giving thanks.

Y’all rest a bit, ok? I’ll see you next week!

____

–Looking for one-on-one coaching on relationships, sexuality, life passages, or need support with personal or career goals? Seeking seeking a facilitator for your group or team to help promote healthy group dynamics and effective communication? Contact me here!

–For more, subscribe to this blog, follow my twitter, connect with me on facebook, and check me out on Pinterest!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

